2013_11_12

IMG_2395

12 November 2013

This is my first post on this new blog. What’s the difference between a diary and a blog? Supposedly a diary is a private journal. Any of us who grew up with brothers and/or sisters know that privacy is an impossibility. A blog, on the other hand, is a public journal. The inaugural entry of this public journal takes place one day after Remembrance Day of 2013. Apt, since it concerns peace. Not just any peace, though; peace for ever.

My name is Rolf Auer. On Twitter, I am @Peace_For_Ever_ and also @Rolf_Auer. On FaceBook, I am Peace For Ever and also Rolf Auer. You are welcome to follow.

Allison Krause

This was Alison Krause. In 1970, I was 17 years old. She was a little older. I wish I’d known her. She was shot dead at Kent State University.

Allison Krause - 1

Alison, fatally wounded. How was this picture taken? I’m trying to imagine myself this close, even with a camera at the ready on my belt, and I can’t imagine how I could have had the wherewithal to reach for it and snap this photograph. Look at the other people in the photo: they were standing and walking right beside her and that she has fallen hasn’t even started to register with them yet. (This is not about arms control.) This is about questioning authority.

THINK!

Even if you don’t question how the photograph came to be taken, question this: at what point did the government start executing students peacefully protesting war? Do you think there is something wrong with that? If not, why not?

I am not anonymous; however, that doesn’t mean that I don’t agree with their direction, or that I won’t join them at some point.

About Rolf Auer

I’m this doofus who’s trying to get by as a know-it-all poet. Fighting poverty has long been an abiding interest of mine. Sharing fast, easy, low-cost recipes is but one way of doing that.🙂
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

